Billing and Accounts FAQs


  1. What is an account owner? How can I change the account owner on my Notable account?
  2. Where can I find our invoices or get a copy of an invoice?
  3. How do we update or change our credit card?
  4. How do we cancel?
  5. How do we upgrade or downgrade?
  6. What is the refund policy?
  7. How does the 30-day free trial work?
  8. What happens with the 30-day free trial if I upgrade from a free account to a paying account?
  9. What is SSL and will it keep my communications absolutely secure?


What is an account owner? How can I change the account owner on my Notable account?

The Notable account owner is the person who originally set up your Notable account. The account owner is the only person who can up/downgrade plans, change credit card billing information, and cancel accounts. The account owner cannot be changed.

Where can I find our invoices or get a copy of an invoice?

You can view all of your invoices online by clicking on the “Account” button from the upper right corner of your Notable screen.

How do we update or change our credit card?

To update your credit card, click on the “Account” button in the upper right corner of your Notable screen, then click the “Change” link next to your current payment information.

How do we cancel?

Your account is effectively considered to be “cancelled” by you choosing to downgrade to the Free version of Notable. All posts, sets, users, and workspaces will be retained in your account, in case you want to use Notable again in the future, but you will only have access to the features appropriate to your plan.

How do we upgrade or downgrade?

All account upgrades and downgrades are done by clicking on the “Accounts” link in the upper right corner of Notable. From this screen, click on the appropriate upgrade or downgrade link to process your plan change.

What is your refund policy?

Notable offers a free 30-day trial on new paying accounts (Basic, Plus and Premium). Your first charge will come 30 days after you originally sign up. If you cancel before this first charge, you won't be billed at all.

If you cancel after you are billed on day 30, no refund will be issued and you will be charged for the rest of that month. You won't be charged again after that.

Accounts that begin as an upgrade from a free account do not qualify for the free 30-day trial.

You are responsible for whatever charges have been incurred.

How does the 30-day free trial account work?

There are two ways to try Notable for free:

1. Choose a paying plan and you can try Notable for free for 30 days. You can cancel any paying account within 30 days of signing up and you won't get charged at all. After 30 days, you'll be charged for that month and start being billed monthly.

Note: You need to stay on the plan you initially selected to try Notable for free. Once you change your plan, billing begins. Of course, you can still cancel at any time. You'll just have to pay for that month.

2. Sign up for our free plan. This plan is free forever and allows for 3 users and 1 private workspace.

What happens with the 30-day free trial if I upgrade from a free account to a paying account?

Upgrading from a free plan to a paying plan ends your free trial. Once you upgrade to a paying plan, you will be charged for your first month.

The 30-day free trial applies only to people who sign up for a brand new paying plan (this does not include upgraded plans). So if you upgrade from a free plan to a paying plan, the free 30-day trial no longer applies.

For example, if you sign up for the free plan and then you upgrade to a paying plan 12 days later, you will immediately be charged for your first month (the 30-day free trial no longer applies). You will continue to be charged every month after that until you cancel your account.

What is SSL and will it keep my communications absolutely secure?

SSL is an acronym for "Secure Socket Layer," a security protocol that provides communications privacy over the Internet. The protocol allows Notable to securely communicate in a way that is designed to prevent eavesdropping, tampering or communications forgery. It's the same technology used by banks and e-commerce companies such as Amazon.com to keep your information safe and secure during transactions.

In Notable's case, SSL keeps your communications absolutely secure (Notable's normal password protection keeps your information private, but SSL keeps it private and secure). Find out more about SSL.

Everyone with a Max or Plus account has SSL on all Notable connections. If you have a Free or Basic account, and you and your clients would prefer all your Notable communication to be secure, you can upgrade to a Premium account by going to your Dashboard, clicking on "Billing" under the "Account" tab and then upgrading to the Max or Plus account. It will just take a few seconds and all your project info will be carried over into the upgraded account—nothing will be lost.